Celebrities Are Ruining Music For Me!

I’m a big fan of the radio. I like scrolling through my preset stations, happening upon something I love (or discovering something new), and singing along as I cruise through town. My singing voice is terrible, but if I crank up the tunes loud enough, all I can hear is Adele and I totally pretend I sound that good. It’s a simple pleasure, one I’ve been indulging since I got my license.

About a year ago, I was torturing my son with a painful rendition of “International Love” when he turned to me and said, “You know this is Chris Brown, right?”

Uh, no, I did not! Immediately, I turned the station. Though I don’t think of myself as being overly opinionated, I knew just enough about Chris Brown to feel uncomfortable as a backup singer. I was, in fact, a little appalled that his music was on the radio at all but that’s neither here nor there. I abandoned my appreciation for the song and never looked back. The radio has no shortage of music, and there are plenty other people to listen to.

I have an eclectic taste in music. My iPod is filled with everything from Eminem to Megadeth to Jon Cozart. There isn’t much I won’t listen to, and there’s even less I won’t at least try out…but lately I’ve become attached to songs I later have to reject on principal—Chris Brown’s International Love being a prime example.

A month or so ago I discovered a song that had a good beat, was easy to sing along with, and quickly became my favorite “find” on the radio. One day, while driving my daughter to school, I heard the opening chords and happily began an uneven rendition. Then she told me, “Mom, that’s Justin Bieber.”

DAMMITT! Again, I didn’t know a whole lot about this kid, but the little I’d heard was not positive. Public tantrums, assault, gross disrespect of people, places, whole countries…

It was harder to let that song go. Because I’m cheap, I rarely buy music. Singing along with The Bieb was not the same as financially contributing to his antics, but it still felt wrong so I wasn’t going to do it.

A bit irked, I let it go, easing back into some old standbys and a couple new favorites. One of them, an uptempo ballad (if that makes sense) had a different feel to it. The singer’s voice was not one I recognized, but I appreciated the difference, the unique quality to it. Within a couple days, I found myself scanning the stations, hoping to hear it.

Then my son told me, “This is Miley Cyrus.”

I have nothing against Miley. As I said, I like her voice. Her songs (one of them, anyhow) really resonated with me. Even so, that knowledge changed things. The opening chords of Wrecking Ball no longer prompt an excited, “Oh, it’s that song!” My first thought has since become, “This is Miley Cyrus.”

Here’s the problem:  singers are not anonymous anymore. The argument could probably be made that perhaps they never were, but I feel like I know too much about these people. I don’t watch E! or read People, and yet I can tell you what Selena Gomez said about Justin Bieber when they broke up. I know what silly, stupid nothings celebrities have tweeted in the last week…and I’m not on Twitter!

When I was a kid, I truly believed I was the biggest fan NKOTB would ever have. I knew all of their songs by heart. I knew Donnie Wahlberg’s favorite color, and where Jordan Knight went to kindergarten. If a boy in class made a derisive comment about any member of this group, I could defend them with all the knowledge of one who carried her copy of Teen Bop in her purse.

Looking back, I didn’t know squat. Those guys could’ve been sucker punching DJ’s and smoking pot in their hotel rooms with underage girls and I wouldn’t have known. Back then, fans didn’t carry cell phones (ready to record) and celebrities didn’t thoughtlessly (publicly) post every thought in their head the moment it occurred to them. There used to be a wall between us—the famous, and the adoring. I think maybe we were better off that way.

It’s hard to appreciate a love song if you know the guy singing it abuses his girlfriend. It’s impossible to believe the sentiment of a charitable contribution when the chick donating fifty grand went off on a tangent about the laziness of the recipients. I kind of wish we could go back to a time when face value was all we got. When we were oblivious to hidden motives and the sometimes ugly truth of a celebrity’s personality.

Maybe they weren’t better people back then, but at least I could pretend they were.

This entry was posted in Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Celebrities Are Ruining Music For Me!

  1. datmama4 says:

    Well said! I could have written this myself (though not as well). I tire of celebrities making me want to punch them in the nose. I do understand they’re human like the rest of us, but there’s something about being in the public eye that demands better behavior, whether the celebrity in question wants that kind of responsibility or not. Let’s face it: if you want to be famous, the lack of private life comes with the package.

    I followed a certain singer on Twitter for about a month, and quickly grew to dislike his tweets, which were always about getting drunk or being drunk, and typically filled with foul language. It kind of bummed me out, but I stopped following him and I think of those tweets every time I hear one of his songs on the radio. That insulating wall you speak of was torn down and is not able to be rebuilt.

    I won’t knowingly condone “bad” celebrities’ behavior by purchasing their music or a ticket to their movies. They’ll probably never feel my absence, but at least I know I’m following my conscience.

  2. elletodd says:

    I’ve read your blog. You could have written this just fine, lol

    Great comment! As the standards continue to fall regarding our celebrities behavior, I fear the situation will only grow worse. All we can do is follow our conscience. Thankfully, there are some private enough (or composed enough) that I still have a variety of music to torture my children with!

  3. Raymond says:

    Perhaps it is unfair that we can no longer separate the “art” from the “ideology” but then again perhaps the artists need to understand the impact of social presence on their careers…and act accordingly. I really enjoy the show Criminal Minds. When they made a spin off I was psyched until I found it stared Jenny garafalo. She was so politically outspoken…and on the other side of issues from my own beliefs…I could not separate the actor from the person and just couldn’t enjoy the show. I wasn’t alone apparently because the series died. I am soooo gonna blog nap this for my post “what writers can learn from Miley.”

    • elletodd says:

      In this day and age, what with Twitter and Facebook and Youtube, privacy is a thing of the past…for all of us. Celebrities suffer more because of it, but they should be more aware of the consequences, too.

      Thanks for commenting! I look forward to your post!

    • datmama4 says:

      At least we’re not the only ones who recognize this trend. There’s a book from a few years back (I haven’t read it) called Shut Up and Sing, written as a criticism of those who use their celebrity status to convince the general public that their political opinions are “more valid” simply by virtue of their fame. Tim Hawkins (comedian) also does a pretty funny verse in his parody of Lennon’s “Imagine” where he imagines a world where all the singers and actors actually stick to singing and acting.

Leave a Reply

