Amazon Petition

A friend recently sent me a link to the petition on change.org for Amazon to start requiring full disclosure of identity from reviewers. I read through the site, then did some searching of my own. I’m a little shocked that this is happening.

Have I gotten bad reviews? Sure. Have I been trashed on a few forums? Yep. I have not, however, been so abused that I feel the need to expose the identity of everyone submitting a review to Amazon. Truth is, reviews are for readers. While I might read mine, I’d never argue with one. There’s no point. Authors who attack their reviewers look immature and unprofessional. Some might say I am immature and unprofessional, but I don’t want to look that way!

Little story for you:  I once got a review that cited my “inability to write a single coherent sentence,” my “disturbing fondness for prepositions,” and the “excruciating pain of finishing” my book. What was my reaction? Well, between you and me, it looked a little like this:

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Publicly, however, I kept my mouth shut. I am, for the most part, a grown up. I try not to whine…overly…in front of an audience. Responding in any way would have been a mistake.

Authors have to be careful interacting with readers. We’re selling something. It’s never a good idea to alienate a current, former, or future customer. I don’t know what happened that brought this petition about–I’m probably one of the most unobservant people in the world–but I do know that it won’t stop harassment, which occurs against BOTH readers and writers.

Plenty of people are perfectly okay trashing someone else without anonymity. This petition isn’t going to prevent the ugliest of behaviors. It will only discourage those who never had a stake in the game to begin with.

This entry was posted in Random Ramblings, Reading/Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Amazon Petition

  1. datmama4 says:

    I’ve seen an awful lot of public tantrums by authors recently, and I assume (probably correctly) that those are many of the same ones who are signing this petition. They just can’t accept that someone might not like their books and automatically call any negative review (even constructive criticisms) “bullying.” Sad that they’re painting all other authors with the same brush and will eventually drive readers to where they refuse to review.

    Vent all you want to your family or friends. Just don’t take it to the public arena. You don’t want people remembering your name for all the wrong reasons.

    • elletodd says:

      That was always my fear. Someone, somewhere, would write Elle Todd down on a list of badly behaving authors.
      I try to be careful responding to any review–even positive ones, even when a reader initiates a conversation. It’s too easy to offend, or just overstep. I think a lot of people are more comfortable with distance between themselves and authors, especially given the disastrous potential of interaction.
      Glad you stopped by!

Leave a Reply

