Recommendations (Part One)

I’ll be the first to tell you I don’t know anything, which might not be the best way to begin a post entitled, “Recommendations,” but bear with me. I started blogging only because I read a few dozen articles that said every writer should. I kept at it because I realized I like to talk randomly about various topics, and the community of bloggers out there are a wonderful bunch. I’ve found several sites I can’t stay away from, no matter how busy I get.

Because I like to share my finds, I thought I’d spotlight some of these sites, in the hopes that you will enjoy them as much as I have.

1.  Easy Reader

dog obedience - west highland white terrier laying down beside stack of books

This is the blog of an editor who very generously posts helpful tips and suggestions for writers. Aside from being a reliable source of solid information, she’s also hilarious. (And she gave me the idea for this post.)

http://ilovetoreadyourbooks.blogspot.com/

Go. Laugh. Learn.

 

2. theGOOD theBAD theBIZARRE

bizarrebird

Review site specializing in indie books. They write the most thorough, informative reviews I think I’ve ever read, pointing out for each (you guessed it) the good, bad, and bizarre aspects of every novel.

http://goodbadbizarre.com/

Worth checking out.

 

3. Forever Young Adult

fya

Another review site that takes a look at popular young adult novels from today and yesterday. If you’re looking for a new book to read, and you appreciate this genre, they have a good setup and a huge list of reviews.

http://foreveryoungadult.com/

If nothing else, read their review of V.C. Andrews work. Laugh out loud funny. I almost ruined my keyboard twice.

 

4. Fatshion Hustlings

cupcakes

This is a personal blog I stumbled upon based on a racy headline. The writer has many articles regarding discrimination, but I wouldn’t call hers an “issue” site necessarily. She also spotlights television shows and movies, and her point of view is reliably witty and clever.

http://fatshionhustlings.com/

Check it out.

 

5. Celairen Art

broken butterfly

German based digital artist specializing in book and CD covers. I can’t recommend her work enough. Even if you aren’t in the market for commercial art, her site is worth perusing. The images are gorgeous, she offers a handful of backgrounds and designs completely free of charge, and she is the genius behind my own covers (which can be found on my About Me page).

http://www.celairen.com/

Go. Explore. Marvel.

___________________________________________________

Disclaimer:  The pictures displayed for Celairen Art and Forever Young Adult are the property of those sites. Not everyone, however, had a handy image for me to borrow. Where none was available, I tried to find something similar to the background they use. When this was impossible, I  went rogue and instead inserted a picture I liked. My apologies to Easy Reader and GoodBadBizarre. In my defense, my choices were meant to be loosely-related to the content or mission of your site…and they made me smile.

This entry was posted in Random Ramblings, Reading/Writing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recommendations (Part One)

  1. datmama4 says:

    HA! Oh, Elle, this is great. I’m finally sorting through my backlog of blog posts and am so glad I popped over here today. Thank you for the recommendation! And I love the picture. It looks just like me, minus the…glasses.

    I’ve only heard of a couple of these sites, so I’m off now to see what I’ve been missing.

    • elletodd says:

      Thank YOU for not taking offense! LOL
      I hope you enjoy what you find. Otherwise, you’ll be less likely to check out my recs when I do this again–I already thought of a few more!

  2. Pingback: HUMP DAY: Lynda Dietz’s “A to Z Challenge,” and a mention from Elle Todd » The Good, the Bad, & the Bizarre

Leave a Reply

