That Which Makes…Me

cat

A friend told me recently that I’ve been slacking off on the blogging. When I pointed out that my last post was less than a month ago, she proceeded to slam me for my movie review. “Not that it wasn’t good,” she said. “But what does it have to do with you–or writing?”

Well…nothing. I try not to write too much about me or my writing. I consider my blog to be less about me, more about things I think other people should think more about. I wish there was an emoticon to accurately convey the look she gave me then. It was somewhat unnerving.

Anyway, because she nagged and I could come up with nothing else to appease her, I’ve decided to share a bit of myself. Here are three things you probably didn’t know about me:

1.  I do everything in spurts. When my blogging is regular, it’s probably because I wrote four articles ahead of time and scheduled them to post at specific intervals. I can keep my house truly, spotlessly clean for several weeks, only to struggle to do the bare minimum for days. I wrote a book in three weeks, the next over eleven months. I have no self-discipline. At all.

2.  I have a habit of texting people who are in the same room with me, and carrying on long, absurd conversations we’d never say out loud. Believe it or not, this isn’t to poke fun at another. It’s merely a demonstration of my persistent immaturity.

3.  I love the smell of a perm. If you’ve spent much time in the salon, or decided to curl your locks yourself, you must remember the eye-watering chemicals involved. For whatever reason, I can’t get enough of it. My sister perms her hair once every year or so. When she does, I make her sit next to me.

We all have our areas of weirdness, some more profound than others. For now, that’s all I have to share with you. (Oh, and the picture had nothing to do with any of this. I just liked it.)

This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to That Which Makes…Me

  1. Jack says:

    Elle, shame on you! You need to stop all consideration of appeasing people, even your best friends. Neville Chamberlain made a career out of appeasing Adolph Hitler, and we all know where that led! A blog is your sacred space. No one is required to keep one, and when they choose to, it is about what they want it to be about, and nothing else. Your reply to any sort of badgering needs to be, “Blogs are free. If you want to run one, you ought to get one.”

    Now, go forth and conquer, and have a great day!

    • elletodd says:

      Another little fact about me? I’m shamefully motivated by even the implication of praise. You enjoy my blog so much you want more? Really? Well…let me get to work!
      LOL
      Thanks for stopping by! It’s nice to hear from you.

  2. H.C. Dallis says:

    I enjoyed your review of “The Wolf on Wall Street.” It actually convinced me not to see the movie. You saved me ten bucks. (Hooray!)

    As for your friend, maybe both she *and* Jack (above) have a point. You should make this blog into whatever you want it to be, *and* you could relate whatever you’re writing about to yourself. For example, in your movie review, you could relate how you see this movie as bad, and bring up the subject of your own writing (kind of compare-and-contrast, or “what I learned from this is…”). To be honest, the best part of your movie review talked about how you thought the structure was flawed (making the movie “epic” and thus boring). I thought your points were interesting and would have even liked to have heard a little more on the subject. Just food for thought.

    -H.C. Dallis

    P.S. ditto on the perm smell.

    • elletodd says:

      You’re the only person who has ever agreed with me on perms. LOL

      That’s not a bad idea, really. I have a (not altogether unreasonable) fear of pushing myself and my work at others, but there are so few tactful ways to do it. In a world of “Look at me! Look at me!” many writers struggle between avoiding overexposure and remaining invisible. You’ve given me something to think about here, and I appreciate it.

      Thanks for reading!

      • H.C. Dallis says:

        True, people who over-promote themselves can get annoying. But try to remember: this is YOUR blog. If anyone is here, it’s because we’re interested in YOU. So talking about yourself is actually giving your audience what they want! So don’t be shy. 🙂

  3. Oh, Elle! These secrets . . . shocking. Now, I can’t say that I *love* the smell of perms, but the scent does leave me vaguely nostalgic, recalling a childhood memory . . .

    I get what you mean entirely about writing about oneself. I did too many posts in a row that touched on my writing directly, and quite frankly, even I was bored. I also am an intermittent blogger [and I LOL’d about the “four articles ahead of time” and scheduling for release]. Everything you put in your blog is relevant to you as a writer, because, well, writing is writing.

    • elletodd says:

      There are only so many revelations I can make without alienating people–or risking jail time.
      LOL
      I’m glad you stopped by. You’re right, of course. I tell myself that i should just pick a topic and stick with it, but these random ramblings are just too much fun–and writing IS writing!

Leave a Reply

